Daniel Ramawidjaja Blog

June 18, 2009

Error in Windows Vista with SP2: MMC could not create the snap-in

Filed under: Windows Vista — Daniel Ramawidjaja @ 2:06 pm
Tags:

It was really annoying when I tried to learn how to configure Windows Vista Firewall to allow MBSA scanning, I found errors in many management consoles (MMCs) when loading snap-ins. Snap-ins that have problems are Event Viewer (eventvwr.msc), Task Scheduler, Windows Firewall with Advanced Security (wf.msc), and Computer Management.

Here the snapshots of the errors

MMC could not create the snap-in

MMC could not create the snap-in

I did not capture a problem that say “Microsoft Management Console has stopped working”

After I lot of googling and try the solutions, I nearly give up and remove the virtual machine (actually it happened on one of my virtual machines). Then I did a last desperate action, remove the registry key showed on the above picture. And it works!! So I did the removal of more registry keys related to the snap-ins that fail to loaded with MMC.

Registry Keys for Snap-in

Now I have solved the problems although the Computer Management seems lose some features.
You see that Computer Management usually has Event Viewer, etc.

New Computer Management Interface

For this problem, I actually learn something else. That we can remove certain features from the Computer Management.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

